Since the 1930's, the Fredonia Fire Department has employed firefighters to man the station twenty-four hours a day. There are currently nine full time firefighters employed by the Village. The Professional Firefighters are EMS providers ranging from NYS EMT-Basic's to NYS Paramedics and all are NYS fire fighters who have completed countless hours of training, continuing education, and have years of combined experience that help to keep the Village of Fredonia, Town of Pomfret, and surrounding area residents and visitors safe 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year The firefighting experience of these firefighters goes back many years as all served as volunteers prior to being hired as a professional firefighter.

The official organization of these firefighters occurred on July 22, 1968 when they became known as the Fredonia Professional Fire Fighters Association. On March 26, 1984, the Fredonia Fire Firefighters became members of both the International Association , Fire Fighters and the New York State Professional Fire Fighters Association. Their IAFF Local number is 2931.

The professional firefighters that staff Fredonia Fire daily not only respond to calls for service. They clean, maintain and check apparatus, hold drills, and complete paperwork.

Many times the firefighters' duties take them outside the station into the public. These areas include fire prevention programs to the schools and adult groups. Training programs, such as proper use of fire extinguishers, are one of the many services they are pleased to provide. Contact the Fire Department if you are interested in setting up these kind of trainings or presentations.

The Fredonia Professional Firefighters are proud to be an active part of the Fredonia Fire Department and are dedicated to making the department an unparalleled emergency services organization.


The Fredonia Professional Firefighters support the M.D.A. and conduct yearly boot drives to raise money for the Muscular Dystrophy Association in their efforts to find a cure.

Thank you for helping us raise over $3,800.00 last year!


Ben Siracuse - President

Tim Winters - Vice President

David Ludemann - Secretary/Treasurer

Daniel Aldrich - Trustee

Kirk Miller - Trustee



Andrew Tastor
Thomas Heubi
Charles Heubi
Elton Morrison
Harold Cooke
Ike Fuller
John McCraith
Harry Hayward
George Zieser
Richard Butts Sr.
Robert Hayward
Jay Callan
Robert Stephen Lesch
Paul Bullick Jr.
Carl Brandt
John Green
Randall Butts
David Ludemann
Floyd Kurgan
Donald Hart
Ryan Walker
Michael Schwertfeger
Timothy Winters
Daniel Aldrich
Kirk Miller
Benjamin Siracuse
Alexander Kurgan
Brent Johnson
Timothy Fisher
Nathaniel Osborne
Timothy Szczepaniak